About Me

I’ll start with the basics. My name is Susan, but everyone calls me Suse, and I am thirty-something years old. I am married to the most practical (and wonderful) man on the planet, and together we are muddling through the raising of our two amazingly gorgeous and talented daughters (I’m a little biased).
We own an enormous fishtank full of fish,  a dog named Lula and a cockatiel named Charlie.
We make our home in sunny Queensland, Australia, where it is beautiful one day and perfect the next (or so proud Queenslanders like to claim).
However, I was not born here. I moved here with my parents and brothers when I was seventeen years old. I was born and raised in the Republic of South Africa, in the province of Kwa-zulu Natal.
(No, we did not have giraffes or lions roaming around in the backyard. You might laugh, but this is a common misconception. Here in Australia, however, we do get the odd wallaby or two visiting our backyard.)

As far back as I can remember I have loved to read (or try to, before I started school). My parents are avid readers and they passed their hunger for books down to me. I love fiction, especially anything with a bit of romance thrown in the mix. Some of the genre’s I love include YA, dystopian, paranormal, historical romance and contemporary romance. I’m sure there are other genre’s that I love, I just haven’t discovered them yet. I remember having a fight with one of my younger brothers about fiction versus non-fiction. Fiction, for me, will always win out.

My dad is now a self-published author and has always encouraged me to write. Sometimes the ideas flow thick and fast and I can’t get the words onto paper fast enough. However, that first blank page when starting a new piece of work scares me silly. Kind of like spiders *shivers*. They both totally freak me out. As of yet, I have not completed any of the stories that I’ve started, but I will get there…someday. I often sit down to write and end up spending the entire day reading someone else’s book instead. One can never read too much in my opinion.

I am a trained primary school teacher, but I mostly work as a high-school substitute teacher. My dad is also a high-school English teacher (my mother a high school maths and science teacher), so I guess it must run in the family or something.

 

P1220775altered

Advertisements

One thought on “About Me

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s