Review: Reawakened by Colleen Houck

Reawakened

Oh my gosh…it’s another review!!! I know right…enjoy…

When seventeen year old Lilliana Young enters the Metropolitan Museum of Art one morning during spring break, the last thing she expects to find is a live Egyptian Prince with godlike powers, who has been reawakened after a thousand years of mummification.

And she really can’t imagine being chosen to aid him in a quest that will lead them across the globe.

But fate has taken hold of Lily, and she, along with her sun prince, Amon, must travel to the Valley of the Kings, raise his brothers from the dead, and stop an evil, shape shifting god named Seth from taking over the world. All before the next full moon.

Let me begin by saying that I had never heard of this book or this author before…my head has been stuck in the sand of work for faaaaaar too long, I know. So when I saw it sitting on the shelf I had second, third and fourth thoughts of purchasing it. I think I picked it up and put it down on three separate visits to the book shop, then picked it up and put it down multiple times on the day I eventually purchased it…and I am so glad I did…I don’t know why I hesitated.

Now, history buffs will probably crucify me for this review, but I have to admit, I’m not hugely offended if a book doesn’t follow history or mythology perfectly…I mean, mythology was made up…and I think that gives authors licence to make up new mythology all the time, even if it’s based on old mythology…call me a heretic, I don’t care.

I enjoyed the pace of this novel, and I couldn’t put it down. It was comical in some areas, and a giggle or two escaped me at some of Amon’s antics…I do enjoy the whole, “I’m not of this world, so I don’t understand it, so I do dumb stuff,” kind of thing.

This book was a fun read, and I am really looking forward to the next book in the series.

In saying all of this, two things did bother me a little (and I mean a little, they were not deal breakers, I just thought they were a little bit of a cop out). The first thing is that her parents are awful and only care about money and prestige…now maybe it’s because I didn’t grow up in that situation (I am not saying these situations don’t exist), but I am so sick of this trope. Can we please have more stories where the parents are not awful (I am a parent, I don’t think I’m awful). The second thing was that several times when Lily and Amon were in a bit of a pickle, magic comes to the rescue and they are easily saved…A little more thought could have gone in to some more plausible rescues…I don’t know. It annoyed me a little, but like I said, not a deal breaker.

Let me know what you thought of this novel, if you’ve read it.

I give it a healthy 4 stars.

Leave a Reply

