Happy Australia Day folks!

Australian Flag Flying animated

By Toby Hudson (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-3.0 or GFDL], via Wikimedia Commons

Today is Australia Day, or as some like to call it…

“STRAYA DAY”

It’s a day where us Aussies celebrate being Aussies, sharing lamb on the BBQ and passing out the beers (or cokes, if you’re underage).

It’s also a day when many, many migrants become Australian citizens, choosing to claim Australia, the only island continent, as their new home and pledging allegiance to the Australian flag.

This was something I did about thirteen years ago, and boy, I have never regretted it. Not even for a second. I may have been born and raised in South Africa, but I am an Australian citizen and proud of it. I’m not saying I turned my back on my birth country, I’m just saying I have embraced the Australian way of life and everything about it with both hands. You know the saying, when in Rome…

I’m the person driving a Ford Falcon XR6 turbo with the Australian flags hanging off the back windows, Australian flag side mirror covers, and blasting “I come from the land downunder” through my stereo as I drive into town. I’m only slightly patriotic to my adopted flag (major understatement), and I think sometimes I embarrass my Australian born hubby with my enthusiasm.

However, there’s more to being an Australian than that. When you pledge the citizenship oath, there’s just something about it that rocks the heart. Most Australian born citizens don’t even know this pledge, which makes me pretty sad. I think all Australians, born here or not, should learn it and memorise it and remember what being a citizen of this amazing country is all about.

554484_531909723507460_1265151999_n

Photo taken by Cr. Glenn Tozer of Division 9, Gold Coast City Council

As an Australian citizen,

I affirm my loyalty to Australia and its people,

whose democratic beliefs I share,

whose rights and liberties I respect,

and whose laws I uphold and obey.

And even though our family is not out celebrating with other Australians today (thanks to the torrential rain and crazy winds here at the moment), I still took the time to pause and remember what being an Australian is really all about. I hope you did too, if you are from this wonderful country, whether you reside here currently or not.

~~~

In other STRAYA day news, The Aussie Owned and Read blog has finally been launched! WOOHOO!!!

270856_469356279789972_1388698418_a

8 Aussie writers taking on the YA and NA literary world from an Australian point of view. Starting Monday there will be an introductory post a day from each of the bloggers (including myself…SQUEEEEE…I feel totally inadequate compared to the amazing ladies on the team).

There will be competitions, advice, interviews, reviews and all sorts of other bookish goodness. So jump on over, read the launch post and click to follow.

That’s it from me, so if you’re an Aussie – HAPPY STRAYA DAY TO YA! If not – DITTO!

Leave a Reply

